Happy Birthday!

Yes, today’s the day that my blog is one whole year old! Typically – on a technical level – I still don’t know how to get the best out of some of its functions; quite often my stats make me want to weep; occasionally, I blush at what I have written and wonder seriously if I should be doing this, but on the whole, I am so pleased that I started it. 

Before I began, I was struggling  with the fact that so much of my creative life had been put on hold. I really did feel like vital bits of me were dying, buried by the sadness and loss of recent years. In the old days, expressing myself creatively had helped get me through tough times; I cannot explain how awful it was to feel this inner support vanish. I felt utterly dry, blocked, blank, like a crucial part of my brain had been removed and all memory of how to do what made me happy irretrievably lost.

The urge to start my blog was the first signal that something was shifting in me. No matter how cut off from those vital sources within us that we might feel, they never completely abandon us. They wait patiently for an opening, a moment to emerge.

Sometimes I worry that my writing is not so good, that no one is reading it, that what I have to say contributes very little to the wider scheme of things, that I am too intense and caught up in my own feelings. Fears of narcissism aside, I do love tapping away at these keys and the thought that someone might get a little from what I have written makes me happy. Reading the comments is such a real thrill too. So, here’s to another year…

Been reading Yeats this morning. Here’s two of my favourites:

A Coat

I made my song a coat

Covered with embroideries

Out of old mythologies

From heel to throat;

But the fools caught it,

Wore it in the world’s eyes

As though they’d wrought it.

Song, let them take it,

For there’s more enterprise

In walking naked.         

                                                W. B. Yeats

He Wishes for the Clothes of Heaven

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,

Enwrought with golden and silver light,

The blue and the dim and the dark cloths

Of night and light and the half-light,

I would spread the cloths under your feet:

But I, being poor, have only my dreams;

I have spread my dreams under your feet;

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

                                                            W. B Yeats

 

3 Comments

  1. Tracey Jones said,

    November 21, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Hello!
    Congratulations druid thurible blog on being one year old! and well done you for doing it!I know this achivement means alot because it nots just about poodling up to the keyboard and starting to write, its about moving through the barriers that can exist which prevent us from doing the very things we love to do, for whatever reasons… As you said it shows a shift inside and a willingness to move through those barriers.
    And i always receive a gift of some kind from your writings, quite often i read one of them and we are going through a similar experience and the way you write about it in such an insightful way really helps me. I also think its a very courageous thing to do, to share with others and be open in this way, so i am really proud of you.
    I really do get alot from what and how you write and i am sure i am not the only one! i love the yoga blogs and the pictures of the dogs! Each morning when i see Laddie do down and up dog, i say to him ‘ good dog postures today!’ I shall watch him and learn!
    Well done and happy future blogging!
    lots of love
    Traceyxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. trish said,

    November 22, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    likewise to Tracey. Congratulations, a whole year , gosh that went so quickly. I love what you write and how you write it. Your words bring comfort to me as Yeats does to you. I love the last poem…but what happens to us when even our dreams become veiled?

    Actually I love them both.

    I too am proud of you and want to say to keep on writing, you have a gift.

    Lots of love Trish xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. luckyloom1 said,

    November 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you both so much – your support means the world to me. Thank you both for ‘honking from behind’! :0) I am honking right back atcha!

    All my love to you both. M XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Leave a Reply

