Vessels of Peace

It’s been a little while since I wrote here. The recent upheavals of my health, and the spiritual confusion that has accompanied these, have made it hard to put fingers to keys. So much of my impetus to write comes from my spiritual life and this period of doubt has left me feeling ‘unplugged’ in so many ways – my energy and my sense of spirit have felt blocked and consequently my writing too.

I have been trying to gently accept where I find myself, making the choice to trust in this strange and unsettling process; sensing in my heart that it is teaching me something about myself. In holding on to the knowledge that all things pass, that nothing stays put, I can allow myself the hope that even persistent stasis is temporary. If it is my own resistance that is causing this stasis, I know from past experience that the impetus for change and movement within us is far stronger. Blocked energy builds and builds until something gives; resistance is ultimately futile.

The last couple of days have seen a subtle shift in me. A conversation with a friend about my predicament triggered a set of situations that led me to ‘The Vessels of Peace’ website. This organisation has been put together by Lynda Terry. I listened to an interview with her on Karen Tate’s website. Karen has an extensive archive of her radio shows with many interviews from women involved in a search for the Divine Feminine (many thanks Gabriella for the link!). It is worth checking out http://www.karentate.com/Tate/voicesof thesacredfemine.html . Looking through the archive lists, I was drawn to Lynda Terry’s photo and the title of her interview: Invoking the Sacred Feminine as a Pathway to Peace.

In my original conversation with my friend, I had told him that I still felt peace when I meditated or was out in nature but couldn’t feel that Divine connection that I had been previously used to sensing. The title of Lynda Terry’s interview sparked something in me. In her early years she was a political activist but began to see aggressive action for peace as somehow at odds with building peace within and in the world. After being involved with Yoga for years, her meditation practice started to take on an added dimension; she began to perceive that the search for peace within and in the world outside was powerfully linked to the re-emergence of the Divine Feminine in Western Culture. She believes that if we cultivate inner peace with intent, this will ultimately impact upon the world around us. If we are at war with ourselves, caught up in inner turmoil and conflict, then what chance do we have of creating societies or environments that are peaceful?

She set up the Vessels of Peace organisation which is made up of groups of women who meditate with intent, opening to peace whilst also opening to the Divine Feminine. These women believe both of these to be intimately linked as a force for spiritual evolution at this present time. Her words touched me, so I checked out the website: http://vesselsofpeace.com .

There is a section on the website under ‘practices’ which lists some meditation techniques that the women use as a way of opening to and cultivating peace. One of these is called ‘The 11 Intentions’ – Lynda Terry has also published a book under the same name – which is a series of invocations to different aspects of the Divine Feminine from various cultures. They really appealed to me and so over the last couple of days I have been including them, and the other practices, in my own meditation time. It is helping enormously. For the first time in weeks, I have felt a sense of connection. In allowing myself to open without judgement or expectation, something found a space through which it could enter; something got through the tiredness, the frustration and the spiritual numbness that I have been feeling.

I have felt a greater clarity since. After so many challenging situations over such a prolonged period of time, when my health began to deteriorate I felt somehow spiritually abandoned – it really did feel like the last straw. Beneath all that numbness was a great anger that here was yet another challenge when I desperately needed a break. On some deeper level, I think I felt rejected by the Divine, punished for having failed my family, particularly my sister; judged for my inadequacies. I felt caught between my own sense of feeling unworthy of Divine love or support whilst feeling equally angry at the injustice of this abandonment. As I write this, I see how much these feelings mirror the anger I have felt towards my family. If my family cannot show compassion for my weaknesses, failings or struggles, why should the Divine? But of course, this is not the real issue here. The real crux of the matter is my own harsh and unforgiving judgement of myself. How can anyone let in healing, peace, love, nurture and support if they, deep down, believe themselves to be utterly unworthy. We can unconsciously build the most impenetrable barriers to keep us from receiving the things that we need.

It has become obvious that anger has not worked for me. It has only made me poorly and exhausted. Listening to Lynda Terry speak about using methods of peace to increase peace – rather than the aggressive tactics of her earlier activism – it struck me that I need to do the same for myself. Rather than angrily shaking a fist at God, or anyone else (including myself) in the hope of instigating change, I need to start from a place of acceptance, a place of opening, a place of non-judgment. As with most things in life, the bottom line is often shaped by our self-esteem or lack of. In order to feel loved, supported and cared for, whether by others or by the Divine, we each have to allow it; to believe that we are deserving of it.

I include the ’11 Intentions’ here. I find them strengthening. Do check out the website too – there is something very powerful about this approach. For now, I am giving myself permission to be – giving the Divine permission to help and support me.

The 11 Intentions

I honor and receive the transforming power of Shakti, Divine Feminine Energy.

I honor and receive the peaceful knowing of Sophia, Divine Wisdom.

I honor and receive the nurturing acceptance of Mary, Divine Love.

I honor and receive the sacred flame of Hestia, Divine Sanctuary.

I honor and receive the healing kindness of Kwan Yin, Divine Compassion.

I honor and receive the steady courage of Kali Durga, Divine Strength.

I honor and receive the generosity of Lakshmi, Divine Abundance.

I honor and receive the natural rhythms of Gaia, Divine Harmony.

I honor and receive the inspiration of Saraswati, Divine Creativity.

I honor and receive the inner stillness of Sige, Divine Silence.

I honor and receive the Divine Feminine in all Her infinite forms.

May Her grace flowing through me uplift and transform the world.

Lynda Terry

11 Comments

  1. Shell said,

    March 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Today, I was doing a search of the Goddess Nemetona since she is my Goddess of The Day from my Goddess oracle deck. Your blog came up and I read your lovely words on her.
    Then I went to find more about you. My surprise..or it shouldn’t be..I was just rereading your article in Sage magazine last night about you moving to the Isle of Wight and your family.
    Obviously, I feel I was led here to your blog.
    I do hope you will get your strength and health back.

  2. luckyloom1 said,

    March 24, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Thank you so much Shell for your kind words – I really appreciate them! Those wonderful ‘coincidences’ always make me smile. It’s lovely to have you here and I am so pleased that you liked my Nemetona piece. Thank you for reading. Mx

  3. Lynda Terry said,

    March 28, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Dear Maria,

    Every so often, I google Vessels of Peace to see where all we are appearing, and saw a link to your post here, which I’ve just read. I appreciate and honor your eloquence and honesty in sharing about your recent challenges … and I’m very touched and humbled to know that the interview and our 11 Intentions practice were of service to you. Your experience is such a wonderful example of the quiet power of this work … of how the interweaving of the energies of Peace and the Sacred Feminine bring healing and transformation. Know that we are always “here,” via our virtual community, as well as in other ways, for any woman who is guided to our website and the practices we share. May you continued to be blessed with Her grace and peace … Lynda

  4. luckyloom1 said,

    March 28, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Dear Lynda,

    What a lovely surprise! Thank you so much for your comment and for your wonderful interview and website! Both have had a very positive impact on me. Your meditation practices are beautiful and powerful and have allowed me to feel a sense of connection again – I am so grateful for this. I was very moved by your interview and feel so pleased that I was guided to listen and to visit your site. I am a member of OBOD and this organisation also practices a shared full moon meditation for peace amongst its worldwide community of members. I truly believe that this technique is a powerful and healing one for both the individual and the wider world. It is lovely to think that there is a link of kinship here between OBOD and the wonderful work that Vessels of Peace are doing.

    Thank you so much for reading and thank you for your beautiful and inspiring words Lynda!
    Maria x

  5. March 29, 2010 at 5:19 am

    This outpouring of your heartfelt experience is very moving. I, too, have felt detached from the Divine but every time that happens, I learn something else about my inner life. I had linked Vessels of Peace at my blog, but here you have given the 11 Intentions for honoring the Divine Feminine and I must say thank you for doing so and for sharing your own experiences.
    Pam B

  6. luckyloom1 said,

    March 29, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Thank you so much Pam! I think you are so right – even our most seemingly empty moments can teach us important things about ourselves. It can be very tough being in that place and I have been learning to trust and stay open and that has been a lesson all in itself. The 11 intentions meditation has been incredibly helpful to me, especially when I have been feeling at my most vulnerable; it has been wonderful to feel that sense of being inwardly supported returning.

    Thank you for reading and for your lovely comment!
    M x

  7. leazengage said,

    February 23, 2013 at 12:51 am

    As one of the many “bloggers for peace,” I found myself struggling with the very same type of challenge that you and Lynda Terry describe so well. I’ve noticed that Vessels of Peace no longer exists; so, I am grateful to find the 11 intentions here. When I write my next peace blog, I’d like very much to include a link to your post – if that’s ok with you. I haven’t read any of your recent posts yet but I certainly look forward to doing that soon! Thanks and all the best to you!

    • February 23, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      Dear Leazengage and Luckyloom1, You cannot know how much it means to me – how synchronistic it is – that both your comments showed up in my email inbox this morning! Many things I could share, but I at least wanted to let you know what happened with the organization I founded and that completed its work (at least, in that official capacity) in 2010.

      When I commented on your lovely post, Luckyloom1, in March 2010, I had not yet received the knowing that the work of Vessels of Peace, as it had been since 2002, was completing. I and the other members of our Core Circle came to that realization later that spring – and by mid-summer had communicated that decision to our email list community and peacefully dissolved our circle (which guided the mission of the organization from 2005-2010).

      We left the site up until the domain name registration expired a few months later. That same summer, I relocated from the U.S. west coast back to the east, to be closer to children and grandkids, and continued my peace work, writing, meditation teaching and spiritual work with women, in other ways. Leazengage, the book in which you found my essay is one example of that. I also, for a time, was the editor for the International Cities of Peace blog, Fostering Peace http://internationalcitiesofpeace.wordpress.com – so I include that link here, since I see you are a “Blogger for Peace” (which I’d love to know more about).

      Regarding the book about the 11 Intentions, last fall, I completed an update/revision of the first edition, in audio book form, which will have a new title and will be available for digital download only, this summer. I’m trying to find the right online “home” for it that doesn’t require me to also have the typical audio book CD package (for environmental reasons I’d rather not do print media). I’m also working on some other writing projects, for e-book format. AND there is a possibility of a reincarnation of Vessels of Peace in a new form …

      So … I don’t have an active blog at the moment, but I do have a quiet little Twitter account, @atasteofpeace … and a blog by that same name that is “under construction.”

      Leazengage, I also will comment on your post that references my essay.

      May you both be blessed with peace in all ways, always … Lynda

  8. February 23, 2013 at 4:25 am

    […] blog post from a fellow WordPress blogger, Maria Ede-Weaving. It was entitled Vessels of Peace. Maria wrote openly about her own journey and she confirmed the theory that our personal struggles ca… […]

  9. luckyloom1 said,

    February 23, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Leazengage, thank you! Sad to hear that the Vessels of Peace no longer exists. Yes, of course, you would be very welcome to include a link. So pleased you liked the post.
    Warm regards, M x

  10. luckyloom1 said,

    February 24, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Dear Lynda, so lovely to hear from you again! So good to hear that your beautiful book will still be available – the 11 Intentions and the practices for opening to peace were incredibly helpful for me.

    I was looking through the website of the Glastonbury Goddess Conference yesterday – it occured to me today as I read your message that I feel sure they would love to hear of your work. The Conference and the Goddess Temple in Glastonbury can be found on line here: http://www.goddesstemple.co.uk/
    and here: http://www.goddessconference.com/ . Just an intuitive hunch but maybe it would be nice to make contact?

    Like you, the last few years has seen some quite dramatic changes in my life. I like to feel that your Intentions and meditations for peace helped me to prepare for what was to come,and they will always be a valued resource I can draw upon. So, thank you! The work was never lost but continues to ripple outward!

    Do let me know when your Blog is up and running.
    Sending much love,
    Maria xxx


Leave a Reply

